St Laurence's Gate & Drogheda Walls
The motte at Athlumney was built in the years after 1172 when Hugh de Lacy, Lord of Meath granted the title of Baron Skryne to his ally Adam de Feypo; he in turn granted Athlumney to a relative Amauri de Feipo, who built the motte.
The older part of Athlumney Castle is a tower house (caiseal) built in the 15th century.
(Nobber mediveal church ruin and modern Church of Ireland church, now George Eogan Cultural and Heritage Centre: Photo, Henry Cruise)
Nobber: from the prehsitoric to the present day
The permanent exhibition in The Tholsel focuses on five key themes: Ancient Secrets, Beating Hearts, Conflict and Power, Holy Ground and Beauty and Romance. Each section introduces the history of the region under that title and the things to explore, see and do. The interactive touch screens give an opportunity for children to explore and play with the little hidden gems on screen. This innovative exhibition truly is a wonderful new addition to the tourism offering in the Boyne Valley.
A well-preserved tower is to be found among the ruins of a Franciscan Monastery, dating from 1512, itself built on site of a monastery founded by St. Erc, a follower of St. Patrick.
The Castle was built in the 15th century by John St. Leger and served as a stronghold for the defence of the Pale. In 1641 Sir Phelim O’Neil took possession of the town and set up the Irish Army headquaters, but the town and castle were retaken by the English Forces under the command of Sir Henry Tichborne that same year and a garrison was then placed.
St Columcille's House probably dates from the early 10th century and is characteristic of an oratory from that period. Access to the monks' sleeping accommodation aloft is by a (modern) ladder. The Oratory is kept locked.
St. Colmcilles House is open for visitors upon request (please contact the Kells Courthouse Tourism and Cultural Hub beforehand to arrange a visit, and give 24hrs notice)
Four Knocks is a Passage Chamber Tomb built about 5000 years ago. It is located 10 miles southeast of Newgrange between Ardcath in County Meath and the Naul in County Dublin. The name Fourknocks may be from the Irish Fuair Cnocs meaning Cold Hills.
Collon House, steeped in history, is full of character and charm; its gracious rooms are exquisitely furnished with period antiques and paintings, retaining the atmosphere of early Georgian living, making this a rare opportunity to experience less than one hour from Dublin City Centre, and thirty minutes from Dublin Airport.
The Hill of Tara is a low-lying ridge located between Navan and Dunshaughlin in Co. Meath. It is said that a quarter of the landscape of Ireland can be seen from the hill. Tara gets its name from Teamhair na Rí meaning ‘sanctuary of the Kings.' It is important as the traditional inauguration site of the ancient High Kings of Ireland. Although few of its monuments survived the test of time, it is an evocative place, much celebrated in Irish myth and legend.